Skip to content

STICKY SWEET & SPICY CHICKEN WINGS

March 13, 2010

When I was growing up, my family didn’t always have alot of money so my mum had to have a strict food budget. Thankfully, my Chinese mother, ever resourceful and typically Chinese cooked all sorts of wonderful and nutritious meals using cheap meats but always with a large selection of vegetables and rice. One of those budget eats were chicken wings as they were so cheap back then and my mother recounted the time when she simply steamed them with chopped spring onion and ginger. While gnawing the meat off the bones, she noted my distinct happiness and pleasure which made her so pleased because I absolutely loved them and was totally unaware of how inexpensive wings were. So, not surprisingly, I often ate them when I was a little nipper! However, some of my classmates thought it was weird eating chicken wings, think it was to do with the meat having bones and skin (!) and requiring fingers that will get sticky while guiding it into your mouth to expertly strip the meat off the bones!

I’ve never gone off wings, they’re like my comfort snack food, very easy to prepare with numerous flavour combinations possible. Though I’m not too keen on the cheesy, deep-fried Buffalo ones, prefer spicy and/or Asian flavours. There’s something very satisfying about eating the meat and skin and the chewy cartilage off the bones. It must be the carnivore in me appealing to my natural instinct of consuming meat without a care in the world. To be honest, I was a bit dismayed when I noticed the price of wings increasing last year but still can’t help but carry on scoffing them! Wings are too ingrained in my childhood memories and emotions for me to ever give them up.

Here’s how I like to cook them, baked with sweet and spicy flavours and served with boiled rice and salad or I just enjoy snacking on them with a cold refreshing beer on the side. Just remember to use your fingers to handle those sticky pieces of chicken. Wing heaven here I come!

Sticky sweet and spicy chicken wings

1 small red onion, finely chopped

2 cloves of garlic, finely chopped

12 chicken wings with the tips removed

Sauce:

3 tbsp tomato ketchup

2 tbsp Worcestershire sauce

1 tbsp runny honey

2 tsp tabasco sauce or more if you prefer extra chilli heat

  1. Preheat the oven to Gas Mark 6, 200 degrees Celcius.
  2. Mix all the sauce ingredients in a bowl.
  3. Halve the chicken wings at the joint with a very sharp knife and fry for several minutes in a large frying pan until browned on both sides. Add the onion and garlic and fry for 2-3 minutes until softened.
  4. Add the sauce mix to the pan and stir until the wings are coated, simmer for 5 minutes.
  5. Transfer wings to a baking dish lined with foil and bake in the oven for approximately 30 minutes or until cooked, make sure you turn the wings over and baste halfway during cooking.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

