Skip to content

CHOCOLATE PECAN COOKIES

April 25, 2010

Got an easy peasy cookie recipe this week for you to try. There are so many variations on cookie recipes on the web that it was difficult to figure what was good to try. Decided to go with one I found on the BBC food website written by Sara Buenfeld which got an average 5 out of 5 star rating. Adapted her recipe by halving the amount of dark chocolate and making it up with milk chocolate as didn’t want too much bitterness from the dark chocolate. Also used light brown sugar instead of muscovado as I didn’t have any in my kitchen. Had to make 3 batches of cookies on 3 baking trays as the cookie mixture spreads out while cooking in the oven so make sure there is enough space between each cookie on the baking tray before baking.

Didn’t take me long to bite into those cookies, found they were gooey with a slight crunch and the taste fulfilled my chocolate cravings. You can experiment by adding different nuts such as walnuts and using different types of flavoured chocolate. Do not expect these cookies to stay in your biscuit tin for long, they will be devoured!

Chocolate pecan cookies

Makes approximately 18 cookies

100 g dark chocolate, broken into small pieces

100 g milk chocolate, broken into small pieces

100 g butter, diced, leave out of the fridge for 1 hour

50 g light brown sugar

85 g golden caster sugar

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 egg, beaten

100 g whole pecans

100 g plain flour

1 tsp bicarbonate of soda

Chocolate and pecan cookie mixture

Spoon cookie mixture onto a baking tray with sufficient spaces in between

Baked chocolate and pecan cookies

  1. Preheat the oven to 180 degrees Celcius/fan 160 degrees Celcius/gas mark 4.
  2. Melt 85 g of chocolate (doesn’t matter which chocolate you use) in a bowl over simmering water taking care not to overcook the chocolate. Alternatively, microwave for about 1 minute on a high setting checking every 10 seconds and give it a quick stir each time.
  3. Add the butter, both sugars, egg and vanilla to the chocolate and beat these into the chocolate with a wooden spoon until smooth.
  4. Add three-quarters of the pecans and the remaining chocolate pieces and stir, then add the flour and bicarbonate and soda and stir thoroughly.
  5. Spoon the mixture onto 3 baking trays with enough space between each cookie as the mixture will spread while baking. Do not spread the cookies, just leave it as a heaped spoonful.
  6. Place the remaining pecans on each cookie by lightly pressing them in and bake for about 12 minutes when the edges of the cookies should be browning slightly.
  7. Leave to cool on the trays and these cookies can stored for up to 3 days in an airtight container.
9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 27, 2010 2:52 pm

    god they are so jummy. Sandra just loved them warm in the morning…

  2. April 27, 2010 4:06 pm

    yumyumpiggysbum I have a question.

    Please don’t take it the wrong way!!

    Me and Sandra will be soon celebrating our first 3 weeks together. She loved your pizza and so much and I want to make the right impression as its naughty not to show you care.

    So I wanted to ask what shall I cook for her? She can be moody so want it to be perfect and if possible able to go through her letter box.

    • April 28, 2010 12:24 pm

      I’m very happy you took the time to make pizza for Sandra.
      About your question, a difficult one to answer. First, why do you want to put something through her letterbox?? I thought you were asking about cooking a meal. If it’s a meal, you want something that is not too filling otherwise you feel too full after the meal and can’t get up to any romance afterwards. Probably best to go for something simple like steak and homemade chips followed by a dessert where you can share fresh strawberries dipped in melted chocolate so you’re not spending too much time in the kitchen but rather on more amorous activities!! Best of luck 😉

  3. May 5, 2010 3:46 pm

    That is perfect Yum Yum,

    Steak and chips it is!

    The letter box thing is now all behind us. It was just in case I could not get in to see her on her special day as her door was often locked.

    I dont mind being to full for amourous things as they make me even more nervous. Unless Sandra is naughty again then I am not so nervous.

    I shall sing her a song whilst I serve it to her. She must love my singing. She really must!

    Thank you thank you.

  4. Philip Oncake permalink
    May 6, 2010 3:10 pm

    Ha Ha I am laughing very much outloud at this man Bob and his funny lady. I tried very very hard to make this biscuits but ahhhhhhh I am not good with it. I managed to get the Pecan, this was very hard but I know some crazy man who can get anything. I think he thought I wanted a gun! I said ‘Ha a gun how long do we know each other Cra’ he should know me well you see Ha a gun, why do I need a gun? He thinks I’m crazy because I am cooking and he says that is for girls. You don’t know this but I am actually not a girl SUPRIZES!!! 🙂 But no the biscuit broke my front tooth but it is a mistake from me i’m sure. Maybe Cra is right and I am no cook but I dam well net geve up at all.
    Oh I like pecan too so all is not bad at all. Although it hurts to eat at the time.

    Thanking you from Phil

  5. May 6, 2010 4:12 pm

    Mr Oncake,

    There is no need to be rude.

    Just because Sandra is different and sensitive there is no need to call her crazy.

    Its very easy to be a tough when not face to face but if I met you I am sure you would learn some manners. I dont know why Yum yum lets people like you read her wonderful site.

    I am sure Yum Yum will join with me in condemning this ugly side of world wide web that is so often comented on by the media.

    As to the biscuits I can access all sort of nuts at any time. So feel free to use more and those wonderful tick like things they make from grapes. Yum yum your recipeees always work perfectly. When I finished mixing Iused let my naughty Sandra lick my spoon! I wish you could lick my spoon now. I am sure you are not so fussy or like playing that silly game of sleeping lions if I knocked on your door.

    Sandra keeps going out at night and coming home very late and then running to her door without talking to me. I need a really good treat that people would like to eat after a party to slow her down. Any ideas?

    • May 9, 2010 6:45 pm

      Dear Phil
      Thankyou so much for trying out my cookie recipe, did you overcook the cookies or something?! I encourage you to persevere as it’s a very good life and social skill to be able to cook. About Bob’s comment to you, I know that Bob is offended however I don’t think you meant any harm and I appreciate you visiting my blog, but you have to be careful about how you word things on the internet as this can lead to misinterpretation.

      Dear Bob
      I’m happy for you to comment on the food aspects of my blog and I don’t think Phil has any animosity towards you or Sandra. As it’s a food blog, it should be about sharing ideas about food, enjoying and experimenting with recipes and helping each other out. I didn’t anticipate that people’s feelings would be hurt as this blog was not set up as the kind of arena to discuss these matters.

  6. Philip Oncake permalink
    May 10, 2010 2:35 pm

    Dear dear dear lady I hang my head in appologizing and not just because of my badly cooking of the cookies but because I am calling Bob’s lady crazy. where I am from it does not mean anything bad it is a good thing to say ‘Oh me lady she is kinda crazy’ and every one laughs HA HA.
    I am very sorry to him and I’m sure his wokman is crazy in a nice way not crazy like when you go to the toilet in the middle of the road and I don’t mean a nice toilet. My uncle did that and it brought us shame.

  7. May 10, 2010 4:27 pm

    Ohh Yum Yum,

    Mummy always said I took things to personally. Please please forgive me.

    Oh Philip, I read my comments with shame. Just because I have access to all sorts of biscuit topings and you only have a fish and the shame of your uncle.

    In my past i have been a bad uncle and I feel sorrow for my nephews and neices. They no longer visit me.

    But i am a good cook. Well getting better thansk to your inspiration yum Yum.

    I will try your new dish tonight and see if Sandra approves.

    One question have you ever cooked anything with bananas. Sandra said she liked them

Leave a Reply

