Skip to content

SALMON WITH CREAMY POTATO SALAD

May 7, 2010

New potatoes are delightful little things packed full of nutritious goodness, best eaten as fresh as possible. These days, I know it’s really trendy to be eating as few carbohydrates as possible for health and slimming reasons but frankly my dear, I don’t give a damn! They’re in season right now and this depicts the start of summer, well it should but here in England, it still feels quite wintry. Never mind, decided to make the most of these potatoes, all fresh and lovely in their delicate thin skins. New potatoes are of the waxy sort which means they’re suited to salads due to their firm texture so do not use these to make mashed potato. They have a much sweeter flavour and less starch than other floury potatoes, hence they’re not as good for baking to produce fluffy baked jacket potatoes. They don’t need much embellishment, a simple potato salad using mayonnaise and a few seasonings including herbs is most satisfactory for a delicious lunch on a summer’s day, great for al fresco dining.

I’ve got a simple potato salad for you to try based on a BBC food recipe which I’ve subsequently adapted, very quick and easy to make and this can be served with fish such as trout and salmon cooked by grilling or baking. I chose salmon as that was all I had and it made for a refreshingly light and healthy lunch.

Salmon with creamy potato salad

Serves 2

300 g  new potatoes e.g. Jersey Royals, Charlotte, washed

4 tsp natural yoghurt

4 tsp mayonnaise

1/2 lemon

1 tbsp small capers, rinsed in water and dried on kitchen paper

4 small gherkins or cornichons, diced

1/4 cucumber, diced

2 salmon fillets

Bring the foil edges together and fold edges over to form a sealed package

  1. If you’re baking salmon, an easy way to do this is to lightly oil the skin of the fillet (to minimise it sticking to the foil), place on a piece of foil on a baking tray, season with salt and pepper and add a teaspoon of water to the fillet to add moisture. Bring up the sides of the foil and fold over the sides and the top to form a sealed package ensuring that there is room for steam inside the package to help cook the fish. Bake at 180 degrees Celsius according to the thickness of your fillet until it is cooked thoroughly.
  2. Boil the potatoes in salted water in a saucepan for 15-20 minutes until they are tender, you can tell by poking the potato with a knife or fork and see if it falls off easily. Drain, then put the potatoes back in the saucepan and add cold water to submerge them for about 2-3 minutes.  Drain the potatoes again, chop the potatoes into halves or quarters depending on their size.
  3. Mix the mayonnaise and yoghurt in a large bowl, add a squeeze of lemon juice leaving some juice for the fish later on. Stir in the potatoes, capers, gherkins, cucumber and most of the spring onion, ensure that the potatoes are thoroughly coated in the mayonnaise and yoghurt mix.
  4. Spoon the potato salad onto a plate and add the salmon fillet on top. Squeeze the remaining lemon juice over the fish and scatter the remaining spring onions over the fish and potatoes.
7 Comments leave one →
  1. Philip Oncake permalink
    May 11, 2010 9:12 am

    After yesterdays writings I was upset and went for a fishing trip. The smooth waters helped to calm me and I had tried to forget all the shamings of Uncle Berry and the road doings. This was the talk of our village for many full moons at it was a difficult time for my family.
    Imagine how happily I read Bobs blog that we had a things in common, he is an uncle and I had an uncle and we both had some shame to share. My heart was soaring so much that I decided to do another recepes with the small fish I had caught from my boat.
    I very much enjoy this recepes with the fish mmmmmmmmm although I was not using the apple and grass in the pictures, I tried it with the corn like on the instructions and it was very delicius. WOW I feel like I cooked something so good I could share it with everyone. I am feeling on top of the world I am going to do some food at our local village yam planting festival and then maybe I’ll even post some to Bob lady sandra letter box. YIPEEEEEEE

    • May 11, 2010 8:27 pm

      Phil,
      Thank God you made a very delicious fish dish, I am so happy for you. When you cook something very tasty, it not only makes you happy but anyone who shares your food will be happy too!
      I agree with your comment “OH OH I know this ‘If you love it then you should have put a ring on it’ I know this HA HA good luck Bob”

      Bob,
      Not sure I can be responsible for suggesting a miracle dish for her to eat! Not sure I can handle the burden if she hated it! I wish you luck with Sandra, hope you win her heart. If you want a good fitness dance routine, I recommend Beyonce’s song “Single ladies (put a ring on it)” – very difficult dance to do but it should the the trick in making you all flexible and fit! If you can’t do it, it’ll make you laugh and appreciate Beyonce’s dancing talent!

  2. May 11, 2010 9:46 am

    Sharing is caring as my mummy used to say. Oh poor mummy.

    Anyway aast night I tried to made the salmon dish it was delicous. I tried to give some to Sandra when she came home late but she said she just wanted her kebab and again closed the door on me.

    I sang gently outside her door and she opened it… she was pale as the moonlight and so beautiful. Just like your smooth waters Mr Oncake I too felt calm.

    At last she let me into her house. Food really is the way to a womans heart. Unfortunatly the kebab made her ill and after she came out of the toilet I had to leave, but its all so new and thrilling. I think I am in love.

    Yum Yum please one more creation, one more miracle that she will eat ahead of the kebab and make her mine.

    Maybe I could put a ring in it!!

    I have started doing exercises so I can be fit and ready for Sandra I started last night and this morning I can touch my knees again!! So No suger or cream. yum yum

  3. Philip Oncake permalink
    May 11, 2010 10:21 am

    OH OH I know this ‘If you love it then you should have put a ring on it’ I know this HA HA good luck Bob

  4. May 14, 2010 3:07 pm

    I started to do the dance. There was a lot of rather big people doing videos of the song on the internet and I tried to copy them.

    These people have a lot more stamina than me.

    Sandra is being rather difficult. Its hard. I dont think anyone will ever want my ring. Last night I went out for a brisk walk in my new tracksuit and she laughed. I think she may have heard me play that song on the internet as well.

    But I think she felt sorry because when she came home an after she had done her kebab routine I heard her crying. Mummy used to say listening was bad but my flat has very thin walls.

  5. May 14, 2010 3:40 pm

    Just made your cookies for the choir tonight!

    So nice to make soemthing for good people.

    And guess what guys I did not lick the bowl and but saved it all for Sandra. Its outside her front door now.

    I love singing in my cassock. It just gives me so much room to manouver.

Trackbacks

  1. WHERE ARE ALL THE DUCK EGGS? « YUM YUM PIGGY'S BUM…!

Leave a Reply

