Skip to content

LEMON & PARSLEY TROUT

May 11, 2010

Continuing with my fishy theme, I decided to cook a very simple, grilled trout supper using parsley, lemon, pine nuts and butter based on a BBC food recipe. This is fabulous especially when you’ve grafted all day at work and want an enjoyable meal for a small amount of effort. This is definitely a healthy, summer dish due to the fresh, tangy flavours which are very complementary. Trout is a freshwater fish which has a light texture and doesn’t suit complex flavours, it’s very low in fat with vitamins A, B, calcium and omega-3 so it’s an ideal protein source. Feel free in experimenting with other herbs such as basil or other types of fish. I served my trout on a bed of white boiled rice flavoured with lemon juice, extra virgin olive oil and parsley stirred in plus halved cherry tomatoes.

Lemon and parsley trout

Serves 4

4 trout fillets

50 g breadcrumbs

1 tbsp butter, softened

1 small bunch parsley, finely chopped

Zest and juice of 1 lemon

25 g pine nuts

1 tbsp olive oil

Ungrilled lemon and parsley trout

  1. Preheat a grill to a high setting. Toast the pine nuts under the grill until brown. You must check regularly, say every  30 seconds otherwise they burn very quickly  if you take your eye off them! Use a food processor to chop half the nuts up or place them in a strong plastic bag and bash those nuts with something heavy like a rolling pin!
  2. Mix the breadcrumbs, butter, parsley, lemon zest and juice with the chopped pine nuts in a bowl. Leave a little lemon juice aside for the fish at the end of cooking.
  3. Place foil on a grill pan or baking tray and oil this lightly. Place the trout fillets skin side down on the foil and season with salt and pepper. Spread the breadcrumb mixture over the fillets and drizzle olive oil over. Place under the grill for about 5 minutes so that the fish is cooked and the topping is browned. If your fillets are thick, grill these first until they’re almost cooked before adding the breadcrumb topping and grill for an extra 3 minutes or until brown on top.
  4. Add lemon juice and scatter the remaining unchopped pine nuts over the fillets, serve immediately.
12 Comments leave one →
  1. Philip Oncake permalink
    May 12, 2010 9:29 am

    AHHHH I’m thinking that you like me with all these fish recepes!! I could send you some fish in a bag as a gift! ONLY JOKING YOU TODAY! I am so much enjoying reading all these interneting pages I am so glad that Cru sold me this dish, I am in a new world of Fish food and fun. HORAY FOR FOOD AND FISH AND LIFE.

    • May 13, 2010 10:17 pm

      Thankyou so much for checking out my trout dish. Fish is a fantastic food and very nutritious. I join you as well in saluting food, fish and life too!

  2. Philip Oncake permalink
    May 14, 2010 2:28 pm

    I actually tried this now but with a different fish and no grass. I sitted outside and watched the sunset out over the ocean and had thinkings like WOW this fish on my plate could have swum around the world then so can I. Although not really swimming I would be going on an areoplane if I did!! Maybe if I swam around the world I would end up on a plate covered in the bread HA HA just imagine me covered in the bread HA HA

  3. Philip Oncake permalink
    May 14, 2010 3:49 pm

    I have excitement news. Cra has asked me to go skinny fishing this evenings. Is a village tradition but I have not been invited for a long time. It is sad to say this is because of the shame of my uncles doings. This is a great week. HARAY!!!

  4. May 14, 2010 3:54 pm

    oh Philip it is so wonderful to be free of clothes

  5. Philip Oncake permalink
    May 14, 2010 4:08 pm

    Bob! You do skinny fishing too? that is too amazement, I thought it was only in my villages. It is an amzing thing to be with nature then catchings it and killings it, with the warm breeze as your friend.

  6. May 14, 2010 4:15 pm

    Well I used to swim naked but Mummy told me it was not proper anymore.

    But Philip I love to sing without restriction.

    Of course you cant be naked in front of god but a cassok does give me a ceratain amount of freedom. I can get really exceited about singing in my cassok and nothing holds me back and no one is scared.

  7. May 14, 2010 4:26 pm

    Please do’nt be worried about that last comment. In my past people have found me so odd and hurt me so much. Its lovely to share my pasions with you Philip and of course the maistro Yum Yum!

    Philip I would love to come fishing with you one day.

    Yum yum could I do your washing up?

  8. Philip Oncake permalink
    May 17, 2010 8:09 am

    Lordy Lordy Bob, you talk of your mamma, my mamma used to say Philip we are all naked before God. I laughing now but back then I thought that meant all my clothes were invisible when I was in church. I would cover myself with my hands every Sunday. And look at me now NAKED ON A BOAT!!!! The fish sliding on you is very strange but over all it was greatness. You would have loved it Bob, we sang our village songs and played boy games with the fish. I tell you I wouldn’t eat my fish after where it went, I threw it back HA HA HA.
    What is this you say is a cassok?

  9. May 17, 2010 9:52 am

    A cassok is a gown that goes from the neck to your toes.

    Its very free.

    Oh Philip how I loved to swim with my friends. Every summer we would cycle down to the ford and jump in. In my country once you are old this sort of behaviour is frowned upon and in your language can be seen as shameful.

    How I wish I could recapture that feeling. The only thing that comes close id when I sing in church or when I eat fantastic food.

    Yum Yum I am going to buy some belly pork … diet be dammed!

  10. Philip Oncake permalink
    May 17, 2010 10:17 am

    If it is free I am getting one, I have little moneys for clothes. I used most of my family moneys on my dish for reading internets.
    Your county sounds all the wrong way around Bob. I am not meaning to make you sad but it sounds like you mamma and your country stops you doing the fings you are loving.
    In my country we are all free to enjoy lifings unless it causes a road or health problems.

  11. May 17, 2010 1:52 pm

    Well Philip,

    People died to make my country free so I too will try and live my life in freedom and joy.

    Just hope no one minds!!

Leave a Reply

